Michelle's profile on Foodily http://www.foodily.com/u/7087ecbcab0d en Vegetable Stock: Two Methods http://foodily.com/r/tyvCzZwSp-vegetable-stock-two-methods-by-simple-bites Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Simple Bites ]]>
Vegetable Stock: Two Methods from Simple Bites
  • 4-6 cup scraps
  • bay leaf
  • black peppercorn
  • clove of garlic

Read recipe preparation at Simple Bites
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Granola Bars http://foodily.com/r/ZOHD2nvR8-granola-bars-by-smitten-kitchen Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC smitten kitchen ]]>
Granola Bars from smitten kitchen
  • 2 cups old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 cup shredded coconut, loosely packed (I used unsweetened)
  • 1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cup dried fruit, or a mix of dried fruit (I used chopped apricots, cranberries and raisins)

Read recipe preparation at smitten kitchen
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Chocolate Black Bean Happy Bars http://foodily.com/r/5jRviFYEX-chocolate-black-bean-happy-bars-by-no-meat-athlete Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC No Meat Athlete ]]>
Chocolate Black Bean Happy Bars from No Meat Athlete
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed (about 1.5 cups)
  • ½ cup almond butter
  • ¼ cup agave
  • ¼ cup mashed banana
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 cups of oats
  • 1/2 cup cocoa + ½ cup brown rice flour
  • ½ cup shredded coconut + ½ cup raisins

Read recipe preparation at No Meat Athlete
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Homemade Vegetable Sushi http://foodily.com/r/cMpyXiHsZ-homemade-vegetable-sushi-by-goop Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Goop ]]>
Homemade Vegetable Sushi from Goop
  • 2 sheets of toasted nori seaweed
  • ½ cup of cooked short-grain brown rice
  • 1/2 teaspoon agave nectar
  • 1/2 teaspoon rice wine vinegar
  • 6 spears of cooked and cooled asparagus (and/or strips of cucumber, carrot, cooked mushrooms, etc.)

Read recipe preparation at Goop
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Make Your Own Sushi http://foodily.com/r/gudwWTRx1-make-your-own-sushi-by-the-family-dinner Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC The Family Dinner ]]>
Make Your Own Sushi from The Family Dinner
  • Each person needs a small bamboo mat called Makisu.
  • Cooked sticky rice (look at the package, it will say short grain, cal-rose or sushi rice) about 1 1/2 cups per person
  • Some seasoned rice vinegar
  • Sheets of toasted nori seaweed cut in half lengthwise
  • Soy sauce
  • Some wasabi, (optional)
  • Picked ginger (optional)
  • Asparagus quickly steamed and cut in half length wise
  • Cucumbers peeled and cut into long strips
  • Carrots cut into thin long strips (or grated into strips)
  • A thin omelet cut into strips
  • Avocados cut into strips and tossed with lemon
  • Peppers cut into strips.
  • Sesame seeds

Read recipe preparation at The Family Dinner
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
California Rolls http://foodily.com/r/rPeHjGbcC-california-rolls-by-the-pioneer-woman Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC The Pioneer Woman ]]>
California Rolls from The Pioneer Woman
  • 1 piece Makisu (bamboo Rolling Mat)
  • Dark Green Nori (dried Seaweed)
  • Sushi Rice
  • Imitation Crab
  • Avocado, Thinly Sliced
  • Cucumber (Japanese, If Available), Thinly Sliced
  • Toasted Sesame Seeds

Read recipe preparation at The Pioneer Woman
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Vegetable "spaghetti" http://foodily.com/r/bbjB48ovuZ-vegetable-spaghetti-by-epicurious Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Epicurious ]]>
Vegetable "spaghetti" from Epicurious
  • 2 pounds carrots, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 8 teaspoons shelled raw pistachios
  • 1 large beet (about 8 ounces), cooked, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup nonfat Greek-style yogurt
  • 64 fresh raspberries
  • 16 leaves mint
  • 16 leaves cilantro

Read recipe preparation at Epicurious
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Gluten-free Chocolate Financiers http://foodily.com/r/cO7qBWvLi-gluten-free-chocolate-financiers-by-smitten-kitchen Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC smitten kitchen ]]>
Gluten-free Chocolate Financiers from smitten kitchen
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup almond flour*
  • 4 tablespoons Dutch-process unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup egg whites (approx. two large)
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract

Read recipe preparation at smitten kitchen
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Sunny Eggs + Mustard-creamed Chard http://foodily.com/r/IRpiaNKMt-sunny-eggs-mustard-creamed-chard-by-sprouted-kitchen Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Sprouted Kitchen ]]>
Sunny Eggs + Mustard-creamed Chard from Sprouted Kitchen
  • 1/2 cup Breadcrumbs (made from day old bread, crusts removed)
  • 5 tsp. Dijon Mustard, divided
  • 2 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil, plus 1 Tbsp
  • 1/2 tsp Mustard Seeds
  • 1 Bunch Swiss Chard
  • 1/4 cup Half and Half
  • 2 tbsp Chopped, Fresh Green Herbs (parsely, thyme, oregano, basil…)
  • 4 eggs
  • Sea Salt
  • Fresh Ground Pepper

Read recipe preparation at Sprouted Kitchen
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Horchata http://foodily.com/r/52seqJ6jF-horchata-by-homesick-texan Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Homesick Texan ]]>
Horchata from Homesick Texan
  • 2/3 cup uncooked rice
  • 1 1/4 cup Blanched Almonds
  • 1 tsp Lime Juice
  • Zest from one lime
  • Cinnamon Stick
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 cup sugar or brown sugar, depending on how dark you want the drink

Read recipe preparation at Homesick Texan
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Iced Ginger Chai http://foodily.com/r/wp5YJ3ORq-iced-ginger-chai-by-elanas-pantry Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Elana's Pantry ]]>
Iced Ginger Chai from Elana's Pantry
  • 2 quarts water
  • ½ cup finely chopped fresh ginger (I leave the skin on)
  • 10 pods cardamon
  • 5 whole cloves
  • 10 whole black peppercorns
  • ½ teaspoon fennel seed
  • ¼ cup organic loose rooibos tea

Read recipe preparation at Elana's Pantry
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Carob Walnut Cookies http://foodily.com/r/tdesCW1a3-carob-walnut-cookies-by-go-dairy-free Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Go Dairy Free ]]>
Carob Walnut Cookies from Go Dairy Free
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cup raw walnuts
  • 1⁄4 cup raw carob powder
  • 1 teaspoon mesquite powder (optional)
  • 1⁄8 teaspoon sea salt

Read recipe preparation at Go Dairy Free
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe http://foodily.com/r/htsIKC2bF-vegan-oatmeal-raisin-cookie-recipe-by-no-meat-athlete Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC No Meat Athlete ]]>
Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe from No Meat Athlete
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 x banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup packed (8 oz) chopped dates
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup whole grain oats, ground
  • 1 cup dry chickpeas, ground
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon (2 sticks ground)
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Read recipe preparation at No Meat Athlete
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Butternut Squash Risotto With Pistachios And Lemon http://foodily.com/r/ElvSK9TFW-butternut-squash-risotto-with-pistachios-and-lemon-by-cannelle-et-vanille Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Cannelle et Vanille ]]>
Butternut Squash Risotto With Pistachios And Lemon from Cannelle et Vanille
  • 1/2 pound peeled butternut squash
  • about 6 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 medium leek, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 2 cups arborio rice
  • 2 rosemary branches
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt, plus more to taste
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • finely grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice, plus more to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup chopped salted pistachios
  • grated Parmesan cheese

Read recipe preparation at Cannelle et Vanille
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Close-to-restaurant Sweet Potato Fries http://foodily.com/r/wWqgF7yMt-close-to-restaurant-sweet-potato-fries-by-the-kitchn Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC The Kitchn ]]>
Close-to-restaurant Sweet Potato Fries from The Kitchn
  • 2 x Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 3 tsp Kosher Salt

Read recipe preparation at The Kitchn
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Soy Ginger Grilled Chicken http://foodily.com/r/65gewC8Ns-soy-ginger-grilled-chicken-by-not-eating-out-in-new-york Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Not Eating Out in New York ]]>
Soy Ginger Grilled Chicken from Not Eating Out in New York
  • about 4 lbs cut-up chicken pieces
  • 1/2 cup light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Asian sesame oil
  • a 1-inch knob of ginger, minced
  • 1 bunch of scallions, both white and green parts, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Read recipe preparation at Not Eating Out in New York
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Lulu’s Apricots With Blue Cheese And Mint http://foodily.com/r/MICas9tGn-lulus-apricots-with-blue-cheese-and-mint-by-lulu-powers Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Lulu Powers ]]>
Lulu’s Apricots With Blue Cheese And Mint from Lulu Powers
  • 1 cup soft blue cheese such as Cashel Blue
  • 30 dried apricot halves
  • 30 whole or julienned fresh mint leaves

Read recipe preparation at Lulu Powers
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Black Quinoa With Avocado, Almonds, And Honey http://foodily.com/r/w7CyailNnp-black-quinoa-with-avocado-almonds-and-honey-by-whole-living Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Whole Living ]]>
Black Quinoa With Avocado, Almonds, And Honey from Whole Living
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup black quinoa
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 1 thinly sliced avocado
  • 6 tablespoons sliced toasted almonds
  • 6 tablespoons honey

Read recipe preparation at Whole Living
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Potato And Kale Spanish Tortilla http://foodily.com/r/F3BmUgTZc-potato-and-kale-spanish-tortilla-by-love-and-olive-oil Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Love and Olive Oil ]]>
Potato And Kale Spanish Tortilla from Love and Olive Oil
  • 1 lb boiling potatoes
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 lb kale, center ribs discarded
  • 7 large eggs

Read recipe preparation at Love and Olive Oil
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Parmesan And Thyme Baked Ricotta http://foodily.com/r/hNtNMAYdcU-parmesan-and-thyme-baked-ricotta-by-donna-hay Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC donna hay ]]>
Parmesan And Thyme Baked Ricotta from donna hay
  • ½ cup (40g) finely grated parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons thyme leaves
  • ½ teaspoon chilli flakes
  • sea salt and cracked black pepper
  • 350 g wedge ricotta
  • toasted crusty bread

Read recipe preparation at donna hay
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Warm And Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa Recipe http://foodily.com/r/DWNBzC4oA-warm-and-nutty-cinnamon-quinoa-recipe-by-101-cookbooks Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC 101 Cookbooks ]]>
Warm And Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa Recipe from 101 Cookbooks
  • 1 cup organic 1% low fat milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup organic quinoa
  • 2 cup fresh blackberries, organic preferred
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans, toasted
  • 4 tsp organic agave nectar, such as Madhava brand

Read recipe preparation at 101 Cookbooks
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Quinoa Pudding http://foodily.com/r/FdqxG6oxkP-quinoa-pudding-by-whole-living Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Whole Living ]]>
Quinoa Pudding from Whole Living
  • 3/4 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 4 cups skim milk
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup chopped dried apricots

Read recipe preparation at Whole Living
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Baked Kale Chips http://foodily.com/r/AaoH9lUqt-baked-kale-chips-by-smitten-kitchen Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC smitten kitchen ]]>
Baked Kale Chips from smitten kitchen
  • 1 bunch (about 6 ounces) kale (I used Lacinato or “Dinosaur” Kale but I understand that the curlier stuff works, too, possibly even better)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Sea salt, to taste

Read recipe preparation at smitten kitchen
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Carrot And Beet Chips http://foodily.com/r/9vU1i28mqR-carrot-and-beet-chips-by-sunset Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Sunset ]]>
Carrot And Beet Chips from Sunset
  • 3 very large carrots, at least 1 1/2 inches in diameter, peeled and cut into 4-in. lengths
  • 3 beets (golden, red, or both), about 5 oz. each, trimmed and peeled
  • Extra-virgin olive oil or canola oil
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tsp. fine sea salt

Read recipe preparation at Sunset
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
White Polenta With Wild Mushrooms And Robiola Cheese http://foodily.com/r/j0OJyF6762-white-polenta-with-wild-mushrooms-and-robiola-cheese-by-food-wine Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Food & Wine ]]>
White Polenta With Wild Mushrooms And Robiola Cheese from Food & Wine
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 1/2 pounds assorted mushrooms, such as chanterelles, shiitake, oysters and creminis, stems trimmed, shiitake stemmed and large mushrooms quartered
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 6 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups fine white cornmeal
  • 5 ounces aged Robiola cheese, rind removed, cheese cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices

Read recipe preparation at Food & Wine
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Artichoke Tapenade http://foodily.com/r/zpSuAwX98-artichoke-tapenade-by-david-lebovitz Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC David Lebovitz ]]>
Artichoke Tapenade from David Lebovitz
  • 2 x garlic cloves
  • 1 cup pitted green olives
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 14 ounces artichokes
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 6 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp chile powder
  • salt, to taste

Read recipe preparation at David Lebovitz
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Cream Cheese-olive Spread http://foodily.com/r/GJreBgSDuk-cream-cheese-olive-spread-by-southern-living Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Southern Living ]]>
Cream Cheese-olive Spread from Southern Living
  • 1 (8-oz.) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped pimiento-stuffed Spanish olives
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives

Read recipe preparation at Southern Living
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Greek Nachos With Feta http://foodily.com/r/PNfMTfJGQ4-greek-nachos-with-feta-by-my-recipes Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC My Recipes ]]>
Greek Nachos With Feta from My Recipes
  • 2 pounds tomatoes, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1/2 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 cucumber, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 (6.5-ounce) bag pita chips
  • 3/4 cup finely crumbled feta cheese
  • 2% reduced-fat Greek yogurt

Read recipe preparation at My Recipes
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Fresh Cheese And Cilantro Dip http://foodily.com/r/GomxLvE8l-fresh-cheese-and-cilantro-dip-by-chocolate-and-zucchini Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Chocolate and Zucchini ]]>
Fresh Cheese And Cilantro Dip from Chocolate and Zucchini
  • 1/2 C fresh cheese (I use the Recettes de Madame Loïk kind but you can substitute cream cheese, Saint-Morêt or another type of fresh cheese)
  • small bouquet of cilantro (coriander in British English), about 25 stems (if cilantro tastes soapy to you, you can use flat-leaf parsley)
  • a dash of olive oil
  • freshly-ground pepper, to taste
  • salt (may not be necessary if the cheese is already salted)
  • 2 small cucumbers or one large

Read recipe preparation at Chocolate and Zucchini
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Mulled Wine http://foodily.com/r/pEydyZvO9h-mulled-wine-by-sf-gate Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC SF Gate ]]>
Mulled Wine from SF Gate
  • 4 bottles (750 ml) red, white or rose wine
  • 2 tangerines or oranges (smaller and sweeter is better)
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 teaspoon whole allspice
  • 20 cloves
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 cups water

Read recipe preparation at SF Gate
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>
Homemade Chai Tea http://foodily.com/r/YZPtxjD1I-homemade-chai-tea-by-whole-foods-market Wed, 6 May 2015 22:43:56 UTC Whole Foods Market ]]>
Homemade Chai Tea from Whole Foods Market
  • 1 (1-inch) piece ginger root, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 4 whole black peppercorns
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 single-serve black tea bags or 1 tablespoon loose black tea
  • 3 cups water
  • 6 whole cloves
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 6 whole green cardamom pods

Read recipe preparation at Whole Foods Market
Fave and comment at Foodily ]]>